Urahara Episode 1: So Many Things

The premiere episode was an interesting to say the least. Very interesting.

Mari, Rito and Kotoko

The leading ladies.

We kicked things off with our main trio in some kind of troubling predicament. This of course is a flashforward, meaning we’ll get to it when it’s brought up again. Right now it’s not really worth talking about. After the really cool OP we get to meet our lead trio.

Rito.jpg

Rito.

First of all we have Rito, who I think is an oni. She looks to be the calm, level-headed leader. After feeding a nearby cat she skated towards Park, the store in Hanjuku she and her friends run. Park at first glance is a clothing store but they sell other stuff as well like sweets.

Mari.jpg

Mari

We then met her friends. First up was Mari, a fashionista with big dreams. She’s pretty much the “look at me!” spotlight stealer and currently my favorite of the three.

Kotoko.jpg

Kotoko.

Then we have Kotoko. She’s a cat-bear thing and the genki of the group who owns a butterfly tablet that seems to help her analyze everything around her.

For most of the first half of the episode we got a long exposition dump, something most internet critics throw temper tantrums over but I have no issue with. We get A LOT of information from who the girls are, their dreams, where they are from, how they met, their family lives etc. Lots to take in.

Kotoko X Rito potential.jpg

There’s potential for Kotoko X Rito but we’ll have to wait and see if it comes true.

Strange customer

Strange customer.

The girls got their first customer of the day, a very eccentric guy. Mari attended to him and he said something along the lines of “I like your style. I like your imagination. I want it all.” He then left.

Scooper about to scoop the Statue of Liberty.jpg

A “Scooper” about to scoop the Statue of Liberty.

Suddenly AN ALIEN INVASION! They were given the nickname “Scoopers” because they “scooped” buildings, monuments and landmarks. Kotoko was excited about the aliens while Rito pondered what was happening and Mari brushed it off as media nonsense. It of course was real. Kotoko and news reporters deduced the Scoopers were on their way to Hanjuku. For some reason the trio felt like they had to stay rather than get out of town.

Misa and Ebifurya

Misa and Ebifurya the living fried shrimp. I don’t trust them.

Suddenly a giant baby bottle shaped “escape ship” landed near our heroines. Out came a little (supposedly) American girl named Misa and her “pet” fried shrimp looking thing named Ebifurya. They said Misa was captured by the aliens but Ebifurya helped her escape. They then explained that the Scoopers went around the galaxy scooping landmarks in order to construct their own planet…or something like that. Basically they wanted to gather as much imagination/creativity as they could across the galaxy. Now they’re on Earth and our heroines are worried what will happen to everyone there. There’s also a hint that Kotoko may have either had a close encounter or also been abducted by aliens in the past.

Amatsumara.jpg

Amatsumara.

The Scooper showed up. Misa handed them a box of Amatsumara. I see four of them and the OP showed four girls. More on that next time.

Rito, Mari and Kotoko in their hero outfits.jpg

Our heroines transformed.

It’s worth mentioning that the ONLY ONE of the three who was freaked out by everything that was happening was Mari. She only went along with it because her friends didn’t seem to mind all that much. So Rito got a cool hoverboard and is the fighter. Kotoko is the analyst/tactician and I imagine the support. Mari is the gunner with her “sweetzooka” as I call it.

Donuts.jpg

Scooper remains.

The three worked together and turned all the Scoopers into donuts and candy. Suddenly what I think was a North Korea reference. That or the US. To stop Hanjuku from being destroyed Rito did something…interesting.

Ultra parfait.jpg

Rito taking a page from Cure Parfait’s playbook.

So what I noticed from this premiere episode is a strong emphasis on using your imagination because this show is certainly chock full of it…and I love it. It feels like Flip Flappers meets The Rolling Girls (but much more interesting than RG) so far.

Triple split-screen.jpg

Lots of split screen effects.

Something else that has to be mentioned is the crazy animation. There’s not only a lot of split-screen moments but many, MANY different styles of animation. One moment it looks cool, the other like a cute children’s coloring book. So much happened in this episode. I have a feeling this is going to be one of those shows that requires repeated viewing to grasp every little detail. I’m excited for more!

Scooper and Panda.jpg

PS: That HAS to be Panda from Polar Bear Cafe!

About OG-Man

Yuri and Slice of Life are my anime passion.
This entry was posted in Episodic Anime posts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Urahara Episode 1: So Many Things

  1. cirno9fan says:

    Did I miss something in the dialogue? I don’t see anything but cat ears and a tail on Kotoko. Where’d the “bear” come from???

    Anyway, amazing first ep~ So very out there, and so much fun! Personally, I’m leaning towards Kotoko as my favorite right now. But the whole cast are pretty interesting

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Rory says:

    I really enjoyed this. Wasn’t really too sure what to expect from it going in, but I’m glad I decided to watch it. It definitely seems on the surreal side of things, but that’s what I like about it.
    It also has a pretty interesting style going for it, which is just another reason for me to like it even more.
    Not quite sure who my favourite character is yet; I like all of them. Rito feeding that cat may just give her the edge, though.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Reapy_s0ul says:

    I’m a Kotoko fan, she’s like a standard genki but not annoying, probably because I like the tone her VA is using, and she seems somewhat intelligent for a genki.

    I’ll admit that I didn’t pay much attention to the episode, as it failed to catch my attention somewhat, I might drop it if it doesn’t get interesting soon, but I’m onboard for now.

    I think there’s some OT3 potential here, but not much, I just don’t like leaving out the 3rd character tbh, we’ll see where it leads as we’d (or at least I’d) need some insight into their individual backstories to see how well their personalities mesh in a romantic situation.

    Don’t really like Mari much, not really my type of character, although she’s certainly tolerable.

    I also don’t trust Misa, not one bit, she’s a fishy character ngl.

    Lastly, I like Rito’s horns, they’re cute.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. LiteraryScribeOtakuGamerGirlT says:

    Pretty much agree with your thoughts exactly. A lot going on, but I love it because it’s unique. I definitely want to see more. Not sure who I ship together yet, but my favorite is Rito without a doubt. I like her style and personality a lot. I don’t trust those two either, but I imagine we’ll find out if we’re right not to next episode.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Mauron says:

    Rito fan here.

    I’m currently rooting for Kotoko x Rito because of Kotoko’s obvious crush, unless a better pairing comes along.

    I think I like the animation style in this show. It’s quirky.

    Was there supposed to be an image above “Strange Visitor”? The text looks out of place.

    How can you not trust the talking fried shrimp and the talking non-fried shrimp (Misa)? Was it because of the fishy backstory, the lack of a backstory for the other one, the handy imagination weapons, or the possible talking fried shrimp boots that didn’t do much? …Ok, I don’t trust them either.

    I want a butterfly shaped tablet now.

    Liked by 3 people

    • OG-Man says:

      Rito’s got the coolness factor in her favor.

      Same here.

      Fixed.

      Exactly.

      That would be cool.

      Liked by 2 people

    • cirno9fan says:

      I was thinking Kotoko constantly always praising Mari over and over again was more of a thing than whatever she did for Rito…but it’s still early, so yeah

      What kind of world do we live in where you can’t trust a cute loli? 😦

      I, for one, will believe in the loli!

      Liked by 2 people

      • Mauron says:

        She did like praising Mari, but she was quick to attach herself to Rito, which stood out to me. Hmm… Give me an episode 2 so I can contemplate this more.

        I for one, do not trust shrimp, especially secret shrimp disguised as boots. Also, items to manifest the powers of imagination against a crisis seem like a good tool to increase the resources you collect, especially after scouting the most creative people you can find.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cirno9fan says:

        You don’t have to trust the shrimp. Believe in the loli, that is all that matters!

        As I said, it’s early, so either of us could be right really.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Mauron says:

        She freely associates with untrustworthy shrimp.

        Next week should give us more insight…

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Shinryu says:

    I was thinking I’d really like this going in but it just failed to grab me at all. I appreciate the art and feel it translated well from it’s drawn form into motion but that was sort of about it. It did feel a lot like Flip Flappers but without the immediate hook that series had. Not giving up on it yet but I was wanting more.

    Like

  7. Nick says:

    So much happening in this ep it was honestly hard to keep up. I wasn’t really sure what to expect going into this one, but after the premier I’m a bit lost. I think if this was maybe 10 minutes it would be perfect, but 24 is just a bit too much. I don’t know, for me I have certain tolerance levels and this is close to it, but so far not over. I’ll agree with you in that Mari is my favorite so far (was it that red hair that caught my attention?) and her battle outfit is pretty sexy too.

    This will have to be given the 3 ep, if not 5, trial period to see how things go. Maybe once I get over the initial sensory overload I’ll be able to enjoy this one a bit more, but after 1 it’s got me reeling.

    Like

    • OG-Man says:

      Understandable. A lot did happen in such a short time. I hope you stick around but if you cannot, no problem. There are other shows we can talk about this Fall.

      Mari certainly isn’t a favorite because she’s a sexy redhead. Definitely not because of that.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. qorl says:

    I like that bushy eyelashes design

    Liked by 1 person

  9. This. Is. Amazing.

    Hmm…Sort of getting Madoka vibes from the animation, a bit. Mostly the way their eyes are drawn, which is almost exactly like in Madoka, and, I suppose, the level of surrealism already in the first episode.

    And with Madoka vibes comes…yeah, not trusting that Shrimp. Not yet, at least, and probably not ever. Wayyyyy too convenient appearance. Also, talking Fried Shrimp. Now I have seen it all.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Keitchup says:

    This looks like the kawaii level up of Flip Flappers. I’m still not sure what’s happening but I’ll probably stick with it until the end. I hope the show will charm its viewers in the next episodes. I’m leaning more towards Rito for now but Mari is a good contender.

    That ebi looks super fishy. Maybe they were sent out to use the trio as an experiment. Some villains act like that. They pretend to be nice at first to gain your trust and then strike you down when you’re not on guard.

    Liked by 2 people

  11. ineedyuri says:

    The art style is great, but the anime it self was boring.
    It lacks that feeling Flip Flappers had.

    Like

  12. yurimylove says:

    we lost tokyo tower and a bunch of cultural buildings, but we got some donuts in return… “law of equivalent exchange” right there 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

