Princess Principal Episode 2: The “Angel” and The Devil

Last time we got a taste of what the show’s about. This time we take a look at how our heroines first met.

Ange's facade

Ange’s timid klutz facade to avert unwanted attention/suspicion. Very clever.

So Ange and later Dorothy were on a mission called Operation: Changeling, where they had to switch places with Princess and gather intel on the Duke of Normandy.

Dorothy doesn't smoke.jpg

Dorothy doesn’t smoke.

When Ange and Dorothy met up we learned that Dorothy is a 20 year old woman masquerading as a secondary school student. According to Rory McAllister it’s not THAT unusual for a 20 year old to be in secondary school. Maybe she’s in her first year…

Princess and Beatrice.jpg

Princess and Beatrice.

While scouting their target the two noticed it wouldn’t be easy due to Princess always having her confidant Beatrice by her side. Ange hatched a plan to make their move during a party hosted by the Foreign Secretary.

Dorothy's secret weapons.jpg

Dorothy’s secret weapons.

During the party the duo were ordered at the last minute to put Operation: Changeling on hold and focus on obtaining a key from Foreign Affairs Committee Member Morgan to a safe containing important blueprints. Dorothy tried using a tried and true strategy to get Mr Morgan’s attention but she didn’t count on the old man having a black babe watching him.

Ange trips.jpg

Ange trips on purpose.

Ange had an that would take care of both Operation: Changeling and the new mission on the same night. She tried befriending Princess, which was strangely easier than expected, and then she intentionally dirtied Princess’ dress.

Princess' undergarment.jpg

I request full body shots of Dorothy and Princess in their sexiest moments of the episode. Oh yes.

Ange disguised as Princess.jpg

Ange disguised as Princess.

Ange used Princess’ dress that she promised to clean in order to disguise herself as her and then successfully obtain the key from Mr Morgan. After returning the dress Princess surprised everyone by already knowing Ange was an enemy spy. She made a deal with Ange and Dorothy, have their superiors agree to let the two team up with her and help with her quest to ascend to the Normandy throne quicker (She’s 4th in line but wants to become queen NOW!) and she won’t reveal their true identities. We’ll find out why Princess wants to become queen ASAP another time.

Duke of Normandy.jpg

Duke of Normandy.

Mr Morgan tried to leave the party ASAP after secretly handing over the key to “Princess”. Unfortunately for him the Duke of Normandy had arrived…it didn’t end well for Mr Morgan. The Duke noticed the key was missing and ordered Black Babe and his other troops to search everyone at the party for it.

Princess about to help Ange.jpg

Conveniently when it was our heroines’ turn to be searched the higher-ups sent the signal that they agreed to Princess’ demands, which in turn lead to her helping the duo avoid getting caught.

Old friends reunited.jpg

Childhood friends reunited.

Later it was revealed Ange (real name Charlotte, the name of the princess’ of Burgundy) and Princess (Real name Ange) played everyone. The reason Princess knew Ange was a spy was because she told her beforehand. The two were childhood friends who were somehow swapped 10 years ago. Well I’ll be darn.

Another good episode.

About OG-Man

Yuri and Slice of Life are my anime passion.
This entry was posted in Episodic Anime posts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Princess Principal Episode 2: The “Angel” and The Devil

  1. LuzeriP says:

    Man, this show is really good. That plot twist, I was like WTF. There are spies among the spies. I wonder last episode they already swapped back or still in disguised.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. cirno9fan says:

    It was truly a fantastic performance. Easily those two are the true master spies int he group. There were just so very many layers of deceit throughout the entire spectacle. I am loving this show to deaaaaaaaaath

    Liked by 3 people

  3. I quite enjoyed this episode. I can’t help but suspect the show is trying to catch the interest of Pretty Little Liars fans.

    Like

  4. Rory says:

    To clear something up here, secondary school students are generally 12 to 18 years old. When I mentioned Dorothy’s age, I was referring to how she has probably only finished school 2 years prior before the events of this series.
    Deceit is the name of the game here, and that certainly allows for things to be very interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Darks0ulreaper says:

    This is definitely looking amazing so far, I love the overall steampunk aesthetic that’s been prevalent in the show from episode 1, and that twist at the end was great.

    With that out of the way, I only started paying attention to this yesterday; what are the prevalent ships so far?
    I’d imagine that the overall consensus is a Beatrice x Ange (previously known to us as Charlotte) ship, but I’m interested in what the nation as a whole thinks at this point, is it too early, or is there enough content to decide on a good pairing?

    Liked by 2 people

  6. This episode was amazing. Ange acting as a klutz was adorable. I enjoyed this flashback episode, I wonder where the ninja girl fits in the story though. I really enjoyed the “I’m one of the bad ones” moment and the final plot twist. This is shaping up to be a really good one.

    Liked by 3 people

  7. Keitchup says:

    I knew there was something up in the first episode when they showed the photo of the Albion family. I was wondering why there was another princess introduced in the episode assuming that the Albion family is the royal family. But now, we got the answer. This is really a great show. There are lies within lies. I imagine going through the episodes would seem like we’re peeling the many layers of an onion until we get to the very core which is the truth. I’m so excited to see more of this show. I’d expect nothing less from the creators of Flip Flappers.

    Liked by 3 people

    • OG-Man says:

      So far they’ve done a great job of showing fans what it’s like to be a spy and all the underhanded tactics one needs to survive in the field.

      Like

  8. Lune d'Eau says:

    I still have to check out the other premieres of the season, including New Game +, but I’m positive this will be one of my favorites, if not my apt.
    Everything about it has been right up my alley so far, and I can definitely see it continuing to deliver.
    Also, Dorothy is the best!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Another great episode. That twist was surprising, but once it was revealed it made sense. The mind games and lies that build on lies is one of the most fascinating aspects of this show. I continue to love the entire theme it’s got going. I didn’t realize until recently that the same creators behind FF made this, but now I understand why it’s so amazing. I look forward to seeing what else they have in store for us.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. FantasyGirlKanna says:

    HA!! I knew it! they’re childhood friends! 😀 A somewhat FinexIzetta relationship I might add 😉

    And how I love the twists! 😀 I really love this show now ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  11. K says:

    …Wait, you’re saying that Ange is actually the Princess and the Princess is actually Ange? I wasn’t paying close enough attention, then. Looking at the photo again, the little girl looked like Ange to me. Putting my confusion aside, if they did swap places ten years ago, then you can say that Operation:Changeling was a success long before it was even conceived. Also, that operation was one elaborate way of saying “How you’ve been?”

    That being said, I liked the Princess’ grin during that entire operation. She was so sure of her victory(thanks to Ange). Also, she wants to be Queen so I wonder how she’s gonna go about achieving that. I have to say, I feel sorry for Beatrice because it seemed like she got dragged into this situation. She adapted to it now, though.

    Huh, Dorothy’s actually 20. That clears things up a bit. She definitely pulled off the schoolgirl look very well.

    I don’t think Mr. Morgan died since the Duke said he missed his heart. Not that it means much since he did get shot in his bad lung, shortening his already short life some.

    Liked by 3 people

    • OG-Man says:

      Yup. It’s all part of being a spy flick. Twists and turns left and right.

      Princess is no angel. Yeah. Beatrice got used to it.

      Dorothy is love.

      Precisely. Mr Morgan’s doomed.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. philipbaxton says:

    That was a shocking twist for sure. I figured they knew each other since childhood based on how their first conversation went but I didn’t think that Ange was actually the Princess. I’m gonna throw out a theory that maybe these two are twins. Ange does look like the Princess and was able to perfectly look like and sound like her, which is something many twins are able to do. Also the Princess (the real Ange) must have resembled Ange (the real Princess Charlotte) to be able to pass as her. I can’t wait to see how this plays out.

    Liked by 3 people

  13. nisazack says:

    I found some yuri ship between Ange and Princess. OMG! They are so cute together in the opening song when Ange hold Princess hand and hug her..im so melting to see the opening..hahaha, btw this anime maybe will trending until no 1. I hope this will happen.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Huh. I had actually missed the twist within the twist that is that Princess and Ange already swapped places 10 years ago. Though, if that is the case, I do wonder if someone else was involved in making that switch happen, and if thus someone else somewhere knows about the switch…

    Then again, of course, since we know many characters in this show lie a lot, they might lie about things of that level too…or at least, keep the real truth hidden from us viewers for as long as possible.

    Liked by 2 people

  15. yurimylove says:

    not so “secret weapons” FTW!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

