OG’s Summer 2017 Anime Picks

It’s that time again where I announce the anime I’ll be watching from an upcoming season. As always the picks can change based on my mood and updates from fans and trusted associates. As readers will notice Summer 2017 will be a much more active season for this blog compared to Spring, which had some pretty good shows but not many of them had enough material to discuss weekly. Not so in the upcoming season…

Picks based on the following charts:

MUST WATCH

netsuzou-trap-anime-promotional-image

Netsuzou Trap – NTR –

I know exactly what I’m getting into when it comes to this show: Two gal pals dating two guys for their respective reasons who realize that the one they actually want to be together with is each other. Of course since this is a drama it’s not that simple. I said several times that this show is going to be a hot mess and I cannot wait! It will be magnificently divisive.

New Game Swimsuit 2.jpg

New Game Double Plus, aka New Game! S2

This will be the safer option for yuri fans to enjoy as we continue relishing the daily lives of the cute and sexy ambiguously gay video game developers. Oh and of course eagerly anticipate the newcomers and see what they will bring to the table.

Action Heroine Cheer Fruits

Action Heroine Cheer Fruits.

Its leading cast are all cute girls on some kind of important mission to help their town grow. That is all I need to know. Sounds like a Girl’s Club show with a twist, the best kind of GC.

Symphogear AXZ poster

Symphogear AXZ

Longtime fans of mine know that I am a huge Symphogear fan and am eagerly anticipating both the 4th and 5th seasons. Dunno what to expect from season 4 but let’s hope the songs, fights and yuri will all be awesome as always. Who knows? Maybe HibiMiku will FINALLY take reveal to us what we already know this season…or perhaps we will have to wait till next season for that. Either way I am pumped.

HinaLogi - From Luck and Logic.jpg

Hina Logi – from Luck and Logic –

Looks to be another sequel/spinoff of a main series that I have little interest in, the main series I mean. However, when I looked up the reception for Luck and Logic I noticed it was mixed, though an associate of mine assured me it would be worth my time. We shall see should I decide to check it out. HinaLogi on the other hand, this one fills my quota of what a show needs to grab my attention.

Centaur's Worries

Centaur’s Worries.

This is the monster girl anime I was hoping would get adapted the most instead of Monster Musume but the latter is more popular so this one had to wait a while longer. The wait is finally over and I am very excited to see the adventures of Motaro’s nicer niece and friends in animated form.

Teekyuu Swimsuit.jpg

Teekyuu 8

It is Teekyuu. Nuff said.


Curiosities

Battle Girls High School

Battle Girls High School

Princess Principal

Princess Principal

Clione no Akari.jpg

Clione no Akari

Jigoku Shoujo

Hell Girl 4


LEFTOVERS

  • Sin: Nanatsu no Taizai
  • Shingeki no Bahamut: Virgin Soul
  • Sakura Quest
  • Kira Kira PreCure a la Mode

About OG-Man

Yuri and Slice of Life are my anime passion.
This entry was posted in OG's Lists and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to OG’s Summer 2017 Anime Picks

  1. FantasyGirlKanna says:

    That very first one in your list is probably the last one on mine (but still on my list) LOL. It’s really weird, it’s like drinking alcohol knowing that you hate the hangover the next morning but still going to drink anyway because it tastes nice 😛

    Anyway, I’m looking forward to all of them 😀 Though my first one is New Game then followed by Symphogear then the Princess Principal 🙂 Love that action genre especially if it’s a Girl’s Club show.

    Liked by 1 person

    • OG-Man says:

      I want as many people to be feeling miserable watching it…despite being unable to walk away. I will cherish this pain…because as soon Citrus airs I will need all the strength I can muster to put up with it.

      Summer will be lovely.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. netsuzou trap is going to be amazing! :3 good choice to watch it. if only they would bring a sakura trick season 2 :/ haha love your posts!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. LitaKino says:

    Nice list some ones I wasn’t aware of I can’t think about summer season yet ughhh but excited for Netsuzou Trap!!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Okami says:

    I think you might want to know that even in original Luck and Logic true main couple is guy and girl all other girls are more interested in other girls and they kiss each other to transform.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. B-M says:

    Princess Principal is from the makers of Flip Flappers, so I have some fairly high expectations for that show. Other than that, NTR and Teekyuu are going to be amazing I can feel it already

    Liked by 2 people

    • OG-Man says:

      I’m not going to bet all my chips on Princess Principal being super gay but I can at least expect it to be something very interesting.

      NTR will be deliciously maddening.

      Teekyuu will deliver with its usual fast-paced lunacy.

      Liked by 1 person

      • B-M says:

        Yeah I’m not sure either how yuri it will be (and it’s got a hard act to follow, FliFla was one of the gayest shows I’ve seen in years), but I’m expecting another set of super high production values and maybe just maybe something with visual story telling!

        Like

      • OG-Man says:

        Again it will most likely be a pretty good show.

        Like

  6. Nick says:

    More Symphogear, literally screaming.

    Good list though, I’m really excited for more New Game as well.

    Liked by 3 people

  7. koneko says:

    Not looking forward to ntr anime at all!!
    Just crash and burn!!!

    Like

  8. yurimylove says:

    I guess being a principal is a pretty tough job — if you have to use a GUN to get your students to pay attention XD

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Keitchup says:

    I can’t wait for the Summer season. I’m mostly looking forward to watching New Game and Symphogear. Most of my friends recommended Kakegurui. I haven’t read the manga but when I checked, I think it’s worth a shot watching as well.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. cirno9fan says:

    Must watch:
    Action Heroine Cheer Fruits
    HIna Logi – Loved the original, very much looking forwards to this spinoff
    NTR – I’m not ready, but I’ll watch anyway
    New Game!! – why in the world wouldn’t I want to watch this!?
    Princess Principal – Look svery intriguing
    Symphogear AXZ – The series has just been so amazing, definitely looking forward to another season!~
    Musashino! – Enjoyed Urawa, so definitely ready for this
    Teekyuu S9 – Title explains it

    Curiosities:
    18if
    Battle Girl HIgh School – Decent luck with these mobage adaptations so far, so this’ll probalby be a keeper
    Centaur no Nayami – Not sure what to think of this, heard it has a side yuri couple that’s actually significant to the series, but thirdhand information is thirdhand information
    Fate/Apocrypha – Incensed that F/E is actually about the Male protag, so my interest in this dropped some
    Nana Maru San Batsu – I really enjoy trivia and stuff, so this might be interesting

    Will probably be watching but no idea if I’ll be caught up at the time:
    Boku no hero academia – Dropped this waaaaaaaaaay back, but recently given it another shot and been enjoying it so far, on ep 10 of S1
    Re:Creators – Was told it’s worth watching, and I’ll get to it….eventually xD
    Sakura Quest – I’m only an ep behind as of typing this, but I have quite the history of never finishing these shows so…yeah

    Liked by 2 people

  11. philipbaxton says:

    I’m most hyoed for Symphogear and New Game S2. I hope we get twice as much AobaxHifumi and KoxRin in S2. I also hope Hibimiku finally becomes canon and we get more Tsubamari.

    Are you still watching Danmachi? Lefiya and Filvis had a lot of shipping material in the last episode.

    Liked by 3 people

  12. LuzeriP says:

    I just made my own list. And it’s a lot. I hope I have time to watch them all every week. Or I’ll just marathon some of them later. NTR, New Game and Symphogear are on my top list. I’m ready for summer season.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Pingback: Anime Preview: Summer 2017 | FoundOnWeb

  14. Norah says:

    Netsuzou Trap makes my blood boil. I dropped it long ago and am a little bit pissed it’s getting an anime whereas Kase-san doesn’t. So I will not be watching that.

    Like

  15. chikorita157 says:

    From the looks of it, it seems that the summer season looks promising. Definitely looking forward to the second season of New Game.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Symphogear! And New Game! And new gay shows! All is good with the world.

    Whisper Also, the (3rd) Nanoha Movie. That is all. Whisper

    Like

Leave a Reply

