Miss Kobayashi’s Dwagon Maid Episode 1: Wesbian Dwagon Sweetness

The wait is finally over for one of the most hyped (and feared depending on what the viewers’ thoughts are on KyoAni’s yuri fan torturing) show of the Nation in the Winter season. Let us see if we will be tortured again or not by those bastards.

Oh and just in case I will post this warning. Everyone who is caught up with the manga are requested to not mention any spoilers whatsoever or do an “anime vs manga” comparison.

The office lady and the dragon.jpg

Our story begins with the introduction of our leading ladies, the single adult woman working an office job named Miss Kobayashi and the dwagon she met one day while drunk and presumably saved from a sword wound named Tohru. That or she simply invited the dwagon to her place while drunk.

Tohru happily remembering Kobayashi's invite.jpg

Most likely it was only the latter.

Miss Kobayashi tried having the dwagon leave by saying it was a misunderstanding but Tohru’s sad face…and almost being late for work changed her mind.

Tohru's clothes cleaning saliva.jpg

After work Miss Kobayashi tested Tohru’s qualifications as a maid if she wanted to stay with her. Tohru only knew about maids from seeing maid cafe employees on her way to Kobayashi’s apartment. Also when it comes to dwagons’ abilities…based on my 29 years worth of knowledge of life on this planet (so far), besides the more common traits of being huge reptiles who can fly and breathe fire their magical abilities are entirely up to the writers to decide what they can do. Hence Tohru being able to produce saliva that can wash clothing should not be questioned. The same goes for her being able to grow back her tail after eating it for dinner.

.

Tohru confessing her love.jpg

I love you Miss Kobayashi, sexually.

The dwagon confessed her love for the human without a second thought. The human told her the classic line of “but I’m a woman”. The dwagon responded by showing how devoted she is to Miss Kobayashi, meaning gender meant nothing to her. Also it is rumored that female dwagons can fornicate with humans, regardless of their gender.

Mr Otaku.jpg

Later on we were introduced to Miss Kobayashi’s coworker. The dwagon as expected felt threatened by this handsome man being close to her beloved mistress. However, her worries were somewhat diminished after seeing that the coworkers’ relationship is both professional and amicable…meaning the lad’s an otaku and Miss Kobayashi’s secretly a hardcore maid nerd, especially when drunk.

Tohru standing her ground.jpg

However, just in case the dwagon stood her ground and made it clear that Miss Kobayashi was her woman and Mr Otaku hitting on her would cost him his life. He was initally shocked but, being an otaku, it didn’t take long for him to process the situation.

Tohru's new clothes.jpg

Guess what Tohru’s breast size is.

Norse Mythology.jpg

Tohru’s homeworld is based on Norse Mythology.

Tohru sniffing Kobayashi's clothes.jpg

Miss Kobayashi said no licking but she didn’t say anything about sniffing.

Odin lunging a sword.jpg

While sharing Miss Kobayashi’s bed Tohru had a nightmare about what looks like a battle she had with dragon slayers and the sword that pierced her by who I assume is Odin. Could be Zeus but since this is Norse Mythology…Anyway Miss Kobayashi calmed Tohru back to sleep. Next week a mystery loli will pay a visit to Tohru.

Alright KyoAni. You did the right thing by removing all subtlety. The dwagon’s clearly gay for the office lady. You are still not forgiven for all the times you have tortured the Yuri Nation but so far this is a good start. I enjoyed the episode. Keep it up.

About OG-Man

Yuri and Slice of Life are my anime passion.
This entry was posted in Episodic Anime posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

66 Responses to Miss Kobayashi’s Dwagon Maid Episode 1: Wesbian Dwagon Sweetness

  1. Glad to see this show isn’t disappointing any of the Nation members. Will definitely watch it tonight. Monster girls saved this season from mediocrity, God bless.

    Like

  2. Shinryu says:

    While it certainly removed all question of Tohru’s feelings, until Kobayashi states (or at least clearly shows) the same I have to put myself firmly on the “wait and see” side of things here. The debut was good and I’m eager for more, but I’m not really blown away.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Eerika Norja says:

    Having read a little of the manga (started after I heard it would get an anime adaptation, only read about 15 of the quite short chapters/just a little past Vol 1), I probably won’t be commenting too much on the first few episodes of this here, since I would inevitably end up making comparisons otherwise, but I’ll just say I’m glad that KyoAni doesn’t seem to have changed or toned down any of the really gay scenes from the manga. This could very well end up being my favorite show of the season now.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. OMG! Finally, after ages, YURI CANON! It’s so good to watch, Maid Dragon is really wonderful and fun, and it’s a good warm up for the upcomings Yuri, right?

    11/10; Could not be better! Tohru reminded myself, with tha hate that she has for that coworker XD!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. cirno9fan says:

    So far probably my favorite show this season~

    I’m not gonna do any spoilery comparisons, but I’m pretty sure that the events played out in a different order in the manga. Either way, I loved how they handled everything so far, and I am really happy with the casting!

    Well, thus far. Very excited for next week!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Zack says:

    I’ve been looking forward to this series. I’m glad to see the first episode didn’t disappoint.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Axel says:

    Glad it was gay. Not my cup of tea but there isn’t much to watch this season so I’ll take it.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This has been one of my favorite premieres this season and so far it seems pretty good. Definitely looking forward to more.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. elkat4 says:

    We all could use maid dragons.

    Dragmon
    Tohru: What’s this?
    Kobayashi: It’s called a Gameboy Color. You put a cartridge in and it plays games.
    Tohru: Really?
    Kobayashi: Wanna try?
    Tohru: Okay!
    Several days later…
    Tohru: Wahahaha! Nothing beat my invincible team of dragonites and charizard!
    Kobayashi: Why do you have only dragon type pokemon (and a charizard)?
    Tohru: Because dragons are superior to all creatures.
    Kobayashi: Oh really? Wanna battle prove that?
    Tohru: Bring it on!
    One battle later against a team of dewgongs, cloysters and a lapras.
    Tohru: My invincible team of dragons! TT_TT
    Koboyashi: Maybe next time diversify your team.
    Ever since then, whenever Tohru played a pokemon game, she refused to catching anything other than dragon-type pokemon/pokemon of the dragon egg group.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. We need more gay dragons in general.

    Liked by 2 people

  11. LuzeriP says:

    Best premiere so far! I like Kobayashi-san voice. Reminded me of Sonya in Kill Me Baby? I don’t know.Well I’m waiting for Kanna to show up. She’s my favorite in manga.

    Liked by 2 people

  12. darks0ulreaper says:

    Enjoyed it. Tohru’s sheer capacity for casual gayness is admirable, and I could totally see Kobayashi taking advantage of Tohru after coming home completely wasted. Damn it, another show that makes me wish the next 11 weeks would just be… over.

    Liked by 2 people

  13. philipbaxton says:

    I totally loved it. Kobayashi-san is one of my favorite yuri manga. Is this the first time KyoAni ever animated a legitimate yuri manga/series?

    Liked by 2 people

  14. kitsu260 says:

    The rumor of KyoAni been anti yuri was just suspertition
    this serie will clear everything.

    Liked by 1 person

    • OG-Man says:

      They’re not 100% anti-yuri. It’s more like they enjoy torturing yuri fans.

      Liked by 1 person

    • More or less KyoAni’s schtick is simple. If the source material had a significant amount of yuri, they typically tone it down to subtext (that can still be interpreted as text with the thickest of goggles) to make the adaptation accessible to mainstream otaku audiences who may not be into the series for the yuri. That does not mean there aren’t exceptions to that rule, as the Lucky Star OVA makes Kagami’s crush on Konata quite clear, and even if Hibike! Euphonium’s Kumiko x Reina interactions were anime only (their relationship on the level it was portrayed in the anime doesn’t exist in the original light novel) there were other girls/pairings in that show.

      Otaku/studios/production committees/Japan overall don’t really have an inherent issue with homosexuality, but they do seem to have an issue with explicit homosexual relationships being expressed as anything more than a teenage pre-marriage fad. They also have a tough time accepting being gay and lesbian as an actual identity, given how they stand out among the crowd in a collectivist society like Japan’s. The times are a changing with that, as more prefectures and wards start to issue marriage licenses to gay couples in Japan, but it is a very gradual process. And we still cannot ignore the fact that otaku find explicit yuri alienating to them “because its fine if their waifu gets intimate with another girl, but just not when they kiss or go beyond that onscreen (except when its a joke)”. And of course as you know, discrimination never really goes away either, which is why many LGBT folk in Japan never even bother to come out.

      But I digress. I’d like to think with the more explicit (and mature) non-hentai yuri content we’ve been getting these days (from Yuri Kuma Arashi to Izetta to Flip Flappers to Kobayashi-san Chi no Maid Dragon) that this is finally starting to change. And with the adaptations of Citrus and Netsuzou Trap this year (which I will begrudgingly accept so long as we get more “tasteful” yuri manga adaptations in the future), we will start seeing more yuri and more changing attitudes about it among otaku and Japanese society alike.

      TL;DR KyoAni teases yuri but rarely delivers the way their fans want, but they’re not incapable of treating us well, as Kobayashi-san has clearly shown.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Fipse says:

        “If the source material had a significant amount of yuri, they typically tone it down to subtext”

        Really? Name one anime where they toned down canon yuri to subtext. I am really tired of that “KyoAni hates yuri” trope.

        Liked by 1 person

      • K-On manga apparently is seinen and has quite a bit of yuri in it (I haven’t actually read it myself but my friends have said as much), but KyoAni toned it down in order to market it to shoujo audiences (even though the audiences for the anime actually ended up being no different than the ones for the manga).

        Liked by 2 people

      • Fipse says:

        I read the exact opposite. The original manga did not have much yuri subtext (and nothing that even comes close to canon). That only changed AFTER the anime aired and people noticed how certain pairings are popular. Most yuri subtext got introduced in the college phase of the manga.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Well then, I guess my sources were wrong. Or my friends just have extremely thick goggles. But if you’ve read it, you know better than me.

        Not going to argue about a series I can’t say I particularly care that much about.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Fipse says:

        I mean it has been some time since I watched K-ON or read parts of the manga. My guess is that they maybe wore a bit too thick yuri goggles (nothing wrong with that).
        But my main point is: KyoANi usually adds a lot more yuri into their shows. Deko/Shinka is the prime example but also Konata/Kagami.

        So far they have only made Dragon Maid a lot more yuri then it is in the manga.

        Liked by 1 person

      • So if that’s the case…where’s this reputation that they only “bait” coming from? I know that in Hibike KumiRei was anime only, and is practically non-existent in the LNs, and its because of that which makes people upset that they aren’t technically canon but…from what you’re telling me it rather contradicts that perception.

        And moreover, I suppose I have to read the manga for Dragon Maid then. I was going to regardless, but only sooner rather than later if the adaptation didn’t stick the landing. So hmmm…thank you for that insight. I’ll have to sit on that for a bit.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Fipse says:

        I think it mostly came from KumiRei and how people are mad that KyoAni did not make them fully canon. They do act kinda “gay” in the novel too (at least the random parts I got the translation for) but KyoAni did up the subtext a lot. I guess they just like to animate gay acting girls 😉
        In all their other shows they never killed any yuri. You could say Tamako Market but that is more a case of the lesbian not getting the girl. (And yes that anime has an legit lesbian character).
        Dragon Maid is a pretty good adaptation so far (even a bit gayer then the manga) and Chu2 proofs that KyoAni is willing to make up gay original characters.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Fair enough, thank you for the clarification and insight.

        Like

  15. Zuneko says:

    This was great! Tooru is just so dang adorable, especially when she is affectionate with Kobayashi. My favorite affectionate Tooru scene this episodes was how she was when she got the clothes as a gift, both the expression and the loving voice was top notch!

    Liked by 2 people

  16. chikorita157 says:

    I have to admit that the first episode is enjoyable. It makes me wonder how Tohru will grow as a maid and of course her relationship with Kobayashi. It should be interesting to see how the couple develops.

    Liked by 2 people

  17. FantasyGirlKanna says:

    It’s here!!! 😀

    I was smiling all the way from the beginning till the end 😛 And I have to agree that so far KyoAni’s doing a good job… so far . Tohru’s so a cute and adowable dwagon :3 And that “boing” sound every time Tohru’s breasts bounce, that’s so funny especially when she what said her size is.

    Tohru’s calls with her fellow dragons in another world, I wonder if it’ll reflect on Kobayashi’s phone bill 😛 I like that Fafnir guy…well I like how contradicting the dragons’ mindsets are to humans’ laws and stuff. Those thieves got lucky, Tohru’s head is too big to reach out and eat them. Also, I find her way of laundry cleaning very convenient and it’s fine for me as long as there’s no smell whatsoever afterwards. I do like my clothes smelling fresh and fragrant after washing them :3 Well overall, having her around is a great choice 😀

    I can’t wait for the next episode 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    • OG-Man says:

      YES! finally someone else talking like Elmer Fudd!

      Why yes, Tohru is vewwy adowable.

      Yup. They were lucky.

      I look fohwad to meeting the otheh dwagons.

      I’m sure her saliva isn’t smelly.

      Liked by 3 people

  18. EasyO's says:

    Don’t even have to read the manga to confidently guess what’s going to happen, i assume Kobayashi and Tooru stick together like a married couple and the loli dragon will get adopted as their child, please make this true!
    Also a note on 2017 now that all it’s quarter 1 shows have now started.
    This year has started with so much potential, i only just realized i have at least 9 shows started already which is double my usual

    Liked by 2 people

  19. appbeza says:

    This reminds me of that interview with the author of Bloom Into You and those other ones. Are they incrementally including higher levels of yuri scenes as the Japanese public perception changes?

    Liked by 2 people

  20. mutopis says:

    the world needs more cute lesbians

    Liked by 4 people

  21. automaticimperfection says:

    I loved the manga, ( well it’s ongoing but ya know what I mean) I was sooo looking forward for this animation and so far I’m very pleased!!!!

    Liked by 3 people

  22. Okay I finally watched the first episode. I got hella Nichijou vibes, and Tohru is just too fucking cute. This show is amazing. I need to rewatch it and then wait until next week. It’ll be so painful yet so worth it. I might even read the manga if I can’t wait (blatant lies XD).

    So glad I gave it a chance. KyoAni is slowly redeeming themselves.

    Liked by 2 people

  23. Reblogged this on haveyouexperiencedshitsurakuen and commented:

    Okay I finally watched the first episode. I got hella Nichijou vibes, and Tohru is just too fucking cute. This show is amazing. I need to rewatch it and then wait until next week. It’ll be so painful yet so worth it. I might even read the manga if I can’t wait (blatant lies XD).

    So glad I gave it a chance. KyoAni is slowly redeeming themselves.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. youraveragejoe010 says:

    Wait, this anime is by KyoAni, the same people responsible for Hibike Euphonium!? That’s worrying.

    Like

  25. themarrowbook says:

    I have so long been waiting for a “monster-girl x yuri/Girls Club” show that I even try to think of making it myself from time to time!

    I’m not sure if this show becomes a yuri harem anime or not, once other Dragon Girls were introduced.
    So far, it seems like a usual monster-girl harem anime, in which monster girls with nonhuman traits somehow love the protagonist and gather at his house, only this time the protagonist is a lady.

    Anyway I am pretty hyped for this show and expect it to be good.

    Liked by 2 people

  26. Umedyn says:

    I will say I had some trepidation about this show. The manga is really fun, and they could have gone about this in a horrible way. I must say, I think this first episode is basically perfect. The jokes were fun (especially the dragon sighting gag jokes were hilarious) and the relationship between the two mains are spot on, I hope they keep up the good work and make it as great as it can be.

    Liked by 2 people

  27. yukkaonna says:

    I really dislike Ky-ani for many reasons (not only baiting etc) and i being scared about how they represent Kobayashi for us. Espesially i feared about art-style. And, i think, Ky-ani did a great job right now and right here. But this is just a first episode (i don’t wanna talk about manga here – here’s only anime-adaptation and nothing else), so many things might be happen. Let’s hope, Ky-ani don’t dissapoint us. I give this a shot. Goodluck, Kyoto animation.

    Liked by 2 people

  28. As much as I enjoy this anime, I am very skeptical about its yuri status. Considering that this is a >>>KyoAni anime, there is a good chance that they are adapting this Hibike style. As in they are going to tone down the yuri and make the >>>male co-worker ten times more relevant later on and a surprise het ending will be fate worse than death. Sorry for the pessimism but it is worth pointing out. KyoAni just hates yuri. Better be safe than sorry. At least for now, this anime is off to a good start.

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Baba says:

    Oh, no matter what KyoAni has done in the past, (still mad over some stuff) I’ll still check this out haha. It seems like maybe this time, KyoAni will embrace yuri, who knows but I hope so 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  30. yurimylove says:

    I just learned that dragon saliva makes the best detergent

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

