Mega Blockbuster Yuri Anime Announcements

One of these two many Yuri Nation members had been waiting ages to hear the magic words to while the other one…

Citrus, Volume 1

Well ladies and gentlemen, you finally got your wish. Citrus will be getting an anime in 2017. Yippee…hopefully the anime will do a better job of getting me to care for more characters and not just Harumin. Harumin’s the only character I still cared about by the time I stopped reading the manga. No other details were given about the anime’s length, premiere date as of yet but It’ll most likely be a 12-13 20+ minute episode thing.

Netsuzou Trap Anime promotional image.png

Now this one made me laugh. I mean seriously? Netsuzou Trap is getting an anime?

Oh ladies and gentlemen, this made my morning. Netsuzou Trap getting an anime…”ahem”. Time to get serious. So this will be an interesting one and will definitely not be suitable for all Nation members. While I kinda like NTR a bit more than Citrus, once again I hope to like more characters than Hotaru by show’s end…which will very difficult to accomplish from what I read. At least I know I’ll undoubtedly enjoy the sexy times between Hotaru and Yuma.

So there you go. Two yuri anime to look forward to in 2017. One I’ll be watching because I have to and the other because I know it’ll turn me on.

Sources:

About OG-Man

Yuri and Slice of Life are my anime passion.
This entry was posted in Yuri news/topics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

79 Responses to Mega Blockbuster Yuri Anime Announcements

  1. appbeza says:

    I just read the summary of Netsuzou Trap, and I just cringed when my eyes scanned over “betrayel” and “their boyfriends”. Is this why I should laugh in hysteria? 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. FantasyGirlKanna says:

    Yaaaaaassss!!! 😀 So excited when I saw the news about Citrus 😀 ❤

    Netsuzou Trap on the other hand hmmmm not so much I guess 😛 I dropped the manga a long time ago. I like yuri story of it but I don’t like the fact that they’re both lying to everyone including themselves so much but I will still look forward to it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dark says:

    Yatta! I like this manga! and soon in anime style! I impatiently waited!!!
    and good news for me OG-sama!
    thanks sooooo muchhhhhhhh!

    sorry for my bad English language?

    and I from Indonesia! Greetings!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Bayuro says:

    Hallelujah! Citrus will become an anime! Now this is more like it! It’s like a Yuri fan’s dream come true. The truth is I also read this news from Anime News Network.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Kaiser says:

    When will there be another yuri anime made that I’m interested in? (Namori I’m looking at you.) I dropped Citrus after 15 chapters. And I would have done it sooner if it wasn’t among the first few I’d ever (attempted to) read.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. WHAAAAAAAT!? R.I.P
    Oh my GOD! I was waiting soooooo much for this moment! Citrus is just perfect! NTR as well! Even if i only had rode a little (NTR), i kinda like it, but as always, the guys sucks (both). I like it beacause they are the “bad” on the story XD
    Thanks for telling me this fantastic news! See ya, OG! ^^

    Liked by 1 person

  7. kurokanako says:

    Hellyeah, that’s amazing news!! I’m so excited!
    But Netzusou trap will be erm.. interesting. The manga is already pretty steamy lol

    I would have preferred it if Girlfriends finally got an anime adaptation and it would have been more suitable for a larger audience but oh well, I’m still happy about this ^w^

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Dimdom says:

    Yeah! That’s amazing news for Yuri Nation all over the world:D
    It’s so hard to describe the happiness in words, I am very happy.
    I hope Yagate Kimi ni Naru got an anime adaptation too.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh boy, 2017 is shaping up to be the year of yuri! We got two yuri manga that are getting animated and GUST is delivering Blue Reflection on March. Also, there is an upcoming Yuri Hime manga called Now Loading that is looking to be a real yuri version of New Game.

    https://boards.4chan.org/u/thread/2187405#p2189107

    2017 IS YURI’S YEAR, BABY!

    Like

  10. appbeza says:

    I’m just waiting for Kase-san and Prism to be adapted too… Octave too!!! Please don’t kill me OC-Man!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Fipse says:

    I do not like Netsuzou Trap but the reactions are going to be delicious. Either from hardcore purity fans or people who expected hetero romance.

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Nick says:

    I’ll watch Citrus, never heard of the other one though. Might check it out, we’ll see.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Bigbossbalrog says:

    Cant wait for all the purity-fans reactions to NTR. It’s really bad, in a glorious Trolls 2, Birdemic, and The Room sort of way.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Literary Scribe Tanique says:

    My Facebook feed was blowing up with posts about this news, but I totally get the excitement, so I’m not annoyed at all. I’m quite excited about Citrus getting an anime, because although there had been rumors previously, I’ll admit, I never expected it would happen. I do enjoy Citrus though, despite it’s flaws, so I’ll eagerly be awaiting the anime release. NTR on the other hand…never would’ve imagined that would get one in a million years and I’m still scratching my head as to why. I’ll admit, I’ve continued to read it, but out of pure amusement rather than enjoyment. Like you said though, should be very interesting to see how the various viewers unfamiliar with it will react when the anime starts. Above all else though, the fact that these very intensely yuri titles are getting actual air time as an anime is a huge step in the right direction and a trend I hope we continue to see.

    Liked by 2 people

    • OG-Man says:

      Hopefully Citrus’ success will bring us one step closer to getting an anime for a yuri manga that actually deserves it, like Kase-san.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Liivv says:

        I think you’re a bit harsh on Citrus 😉

        Like

      • OG-Man says:

        I’m not stopping you from enjoying it more than me.

        Like

      • Jacob says:

        Hey OG-man, I was curious as to why you aren’t that fond of citrus. I completely get that it’s your own opinion obvs, but I just thought citrus was like the staple yuri anime ya know? It’s like the most famous one among the community. Is it because of the exacerbate amount of angst or something? I would love to hear your feedback!! Jacob

        Like

      • OG-Man says:

        You mean manga. Also something being the most popularr doesn’t always mean it’s the best. To put it simply, it felt like the story had become directionless for the longest time. Maybe the upcoming anime version will change my mind but if it’s going to be similar to the manga I won’t hold my breath.

        Like

  15. Zuneko says:

    I thought Citrus was okay, only annoyed by how unnecessarily drawn out it is. But Netsuzou Trap? There are a lot better yuri manga out there that deserve an anime adaption.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. kracen says:

    2 Romance Yuri anime in one year? Perhaps all the satanic sacrifices have been paying off after all… Even if they were all for the intent of a second season of Sakura Trick, but alas, not yet, my work will have to continue.

    I like Citrus, I enjoy the ship, the main two are fantastic and I want all the best for them… Everyone else in the story is largely irrelevant, merely tools to set up the settings nothing more, hopefully it follows the manga closely, though curious how much of it it will cover… Will it be like Sasameki Koto and Aoi Hana and barely cover 2 volumes of a 6+ volume manga… Leaving all the important good stuff out or will it get to the point and cover it properly? One can only hope for the latter.

    As for Netsuzou Trap… I mean… I’ve read every available chapter and read everyone which comes up… But… Het relationships in anime… In Manga I can merely skim read the pages where it is there and get through a chapter in about a minute but will I be able to suffer through it in an anime? Not only that, but Cuckoldry is vile (The fact that it is Yuri softens the disgust but it is still there)… We’ll see with this one, if I can tolerate it or not, hopefully they downplay their ‘boyfriends’ involvement in the story and focus on the girls (We can only be so lucky).

    Overall though, this brings up one question and one question alone… If Citrus is getting an anime, where the hell is the anime adaptation of Girlfriends? There is no Yuri manga (and yes I even include Sakura Trick in this so that is how serious I am) that is more deserving of an anime adaptation than Girlfriends, at least several seasons, some extra unseen content OVAs and a movie or two.

    Liked by 2 people

  17. Ray Hales says:

    Honestly I just clicked on the post that had a picture of NTR and I did not expect to see both it and citrus becoming an anime. I figured citrus would get a anime… I just figured it would take a minute, but NTR.. I did not expect that one bit. I’m not gonna lie though, I actually really really love NTR. I have read through the manga maybe 5+ times. I mean I don’t like the male characters at all, but I really do like the really steamy scenes with Yuma and hotaru. I did read the most recent chapter of it and it made me really happy when yuma actually kissed hotaru instead of it all being hotaru. All in all I’m extremely excited for NTR. ^^ and citrus I feel is just gonna be a complete not ride. Ahhhhhhhh I am just soooooo ready.

    Liked by 2 people

  18. kitsu260 says:

    Oh well, this were big news to wake up on the morning.
    In few words, citrus is ”save” since is pure yuri
    meanwhile NTR is dangerous because use a hentai plot and this will case so many mess when is aired, wow, just wow.
    This two adaptions is proof that Yuri Hime get very stronger since Yuyururi, they become monthly magazine so they had chance to had more adaption regularity.

    Liked by 2 people

    • OG-Man says:

      That is good news. Hopefully it means more deserving yuri titles will be next in line for anime adaptations should Citrus do well. Dunno about NTR but it shall be a beautiful disaster to watch unfold.

      Liked by 1 person

  19. x says:

    I like Citrus a lot and NTR is okay but maybe a big tease, I haven’t read it all. But since they are animated they might change the story from the manga, a little bit.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Suou says:

    Hooray for Citrus! Would prefer an anime for a completed series with a yuri ending like Notes From Garden Of Lilies but this is fine too.

    As for Ntr trap…i will only watch it if it has a ‘nice boat’ ending. One of few yuri manga i actually cringe when i read it lol…

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Alexis says:

    Hola saludines ¿como esta? espero que haya disfrutado su retiro espiritual.

    Casualmente andaba buscando cosas en la red cuando me percaté de vuestro regreso y eso que andaba buscando es información sobre las dos adaptaciones para el 2017, Oh GOD! dos series yuri ya confirmadas, sobre Citrus no tengo queja pero la de NTR: Netssuzou Trap está muy tentadora, el NTR es un elemento morboso y algunos lo odian, de mi parte tengo una regla sencilla, si el tio es un inútil, bueno para nada (más o menos como toooooooodos los protagonistas de series harem) yo digo: SE MERECEN ESO Y MÁS, otros casos hay que analizarlos y está serie creo que es un buen material de análisis.

    El año 2017 se ve muy prolifico y si tan solo confirmaran que Night of Azure 2 y Blue Reflection también son juegos yuri estaría muy feliz.

    Seguimos comentando sobre las futuras novedades.

    cyao

    Liked by 1 person

    • OG-Man says:

      Citrus veremos como sera.

      La atraccion de NTR sera las chicas y sus momentos eroticos. Los chicos se pueden irse al basurero.

      Azure 2 parece ser mas yuririfico que su predecesor que ya era yuririfico. Blue Reflection tiene mucha potencial.

      Like

  22. Ketchup says:

    OG, I’ve been one of your silent followers for years. But I just can’t contain my happiness after hearing this news. I’ve been waiting for Citrus to get an animation since forever. I hope that they give justice to the manga and that they give more depth to the characters. I have to agree that Harumin is the best girl.

    I’ve been following NTR as well and I was surprised when I learned that it’s getting an anime adaption. It never crossed my mind actually. Hahaha I’m not even sure if they have enough material to work on with NTR. Although the sexy times between Hotaru and Yuma are really something to look forward to.

    I just hope that more wholesome yuri mangas will be given this chance in the next few years.

    Liked by 1 person

    • OG-Man says:

      Maybe the anime version will change my opinion on Citrus. We’ll see.

      Exactly. The main takeaway from these announcements is that it means that hopefully far more deserving yuri manga will get a shot at getting animated in the near future.

      Liked by 1 person

  23. redpanther says:

    I’m going to enjoy this.Not just the actual show itself,but also the massive lulz and drama that will definitely come afterward.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. B-M says:

    I read the description of NTR. Uh, yeah I’ll skip over that.

    But Citrus! It’ll be interesting to see if they can fix the weirder or worse parts of Citrus, like most of the characters being a bit… I can’t wait to see Yuzu in motion though! And any yuri is good ❤

    Like

  25. LitaKino says:

    I was hoping for more yuri anything for ages now and then these announcement come along I’m so excited !!! 😆

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Jackson says:

    Yuri Fan since 06 here. And I used to be on the Shoujo ai Forums with you back in the days. Long time follower I am very excited about this announcement! I love Citrus despite it’s Many flaws. Netsuzuo Trap was an interesting pick. Not my favorite manga but it is interesting. While I do agree that there are better Yuri manga are out there, I’m not gonna complain. In fact I think this might be a gateway for something far bigger. Yuri is slowly but surely becoming more mainstream. This plus more Yuri games? Yes please! So while these might not be our favorite mangas, these hold historical significance in our proud Nation. :).

    Liked by 2 people

  27. automaticimperfection says:

    Citrus..anime… ❤ I’m in lol

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Chungie0 says:

    I’m honestly excited for citrus 😋😋😋😋

    Liked by 1 person

  29. yurimylove says:

    I haven’t read Citrus but any legit yuri anime gets my vote. Great news!

    Liked by 1 person

  30. So Shitrus got animated.

    I bought a volume for shits and giggles and perused it. The art is great, the yuri is definitely there, but oh my fucking God, can you say SCHMALTZ. It’s the most dragged out, melodramatic and troperiffic bullshit and I feel so fucking guilty for reading it.

    Of course tripe like that got animated. I’ll probably watch it anyway and read the rest of it but…SHEESH.

    And I read the summary of Netsuzou…uhhhhh no thanks.

    What the Hell is it going to take for an adaptation of Girl Friends or Blooming Into You, like something that actually fucking DESERVES it. That might just be a pipe dream at this point but FUCK.

    I REFUSE to believe the industry is still this fucking shallow. sigh

    Oh well, it is what it is.

    Liked by 1 person

  31. Reblogged this on haveyouexperiencedshitsurakuen and commented:

    So Shitrus got animated.

    I bought a volume for shits and giggles and perused it. The art is great, the yuri is definitely there, but oh my fucking God, can you say SCHMALTZ. It’s the most dragged out, melodramatic and troperiffic bullshit and I feel so fucking guilty for reading it.

    Of course tripe like that got animated. I’ll probably watch it anyway and read the rest of it but…SHEESH.

    And I read the summary of Netsuzou…uhhhhh no thanks.

    What the Hell is it going to take for an adaptation of Girl Friends or Blooming Into You, like something that actually fucking DESERVES it. That might just be a pipe dream at this point but FUCK.

    I REFUSE to believe the industry is still this fucking shallow. sigh

    Oh well, it is what it is.

    Liked by 1 person

  32. Star Light says:

    Netsuzou Trap is not my cup of tea so I will forget about it. But Citrus? Forget it? Oh, come on, why would I live on the earth for. Hahaha, no-way.

    Liked by 1 person

  33. Yin says:

    Now that’s a great news! I would definitely watch Citrus, despite your strong dislike toward this franchise lol. Ntr eh?…just not my cup of tea. I just don’t like any kind of netorare story.

    Like

  34. Toyib says:

    And I am still waiting for Sakura Trick season 2. Am I the only one?

    Liked by 1 person

  35. eirissblog says:

    Wow, it has been years and I did not even ascertain that this website had a comment function! In any matter, I am very excited for the Citrus manga and have not yet read NTR. Based upon my knowledge of the topic, it would not really be somrthing that I was interested in. Lastly, 2017 is embodying year of the yuri! Let’s stay tuned!

    Liked by 1 person

  36. I’m annoyed these had to be announced at the same time. I want to just talk about Citrus, but I’ll definitely watch both.

    Like

  37. koneko says:

    nooooo! not citrus! make gamma anime instead!!

    Like

  38. Pingback: Mysterious Kase-san Poster | The Yuri Nation

Leave a Reply

