OG’s New Top 10 Fav Yuri Manga

Back in 2011 I made a list of my 10 favorite manga I read up to that point. Nearly three years later things have changed, I read more manga and I gained a new perspective on things. With that being said here’s my new top 10 favorite yuri manga list. How long this new one will last remains to be seen.

Manga Time Fiesta Poster

Here’s the previous list.

OG’s top 10 fav Yuri manga he’s read

Alrighty then, let’s begin.

Stray Little Devil Cover#10: Stray Little Devil

While the yuri in this one is not central to the story when it does get brought up it definitely makes sure to let readers know the yuri is strong in this story. Not only that but the main plot is pretty good and kind of complex in an unexpected way. The dynamics between the leading ladies is nothing knew yet it follows the “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” philosophy and it works. It starts off a bit slow but trust me when I say newcomers’ patience will pay off.

nh-colour1#9: Kisses, Sighs and Cherry Blossom Pink (The Nana and Hitomi series).

I have no shame in admitting that I liked this story more than Girl Friends. I know GF is the story that made the greater impact and also like that story but this one was both simpler and emotionally engaging at the same time despite being shorter. What made this one work for me was that it focused more on what happens after the two ladies with feelings for one another hook up rather than the chase. Supposedly the chase is considered more interesting to the majority than what happens after hooking up but I’ve seen the chase so many times before picking this one up that I was losing appeal for the cliche. Of course GF eventually tackles the second concept in time but KSCBP got to it right away and the story told from that point on was a very interesting one bringing to question whether Nana and Hitomi’s love could work or not and several other interesting topics pertaining to their relationship.

 Poor Poor Lips Cover#8: Poor Poor Lips.

I can already sense the GF diehards saying “HEY OG! PPL is also a “waiting game” heavy storyline and you just talked about getting tired of it in the second pick. What gives?” I guess I would consider this an exception. It also has to do with me picking this story up at a time where my previously mentioned fatigue had faded so I was ready to take on “waiting game” stories again. PPL happened to be the first one I picked up and I loved it. Maybe it’s the thought of a horny rich girl getting the hots for an adorable poor girl and slowly accepting the truth and what followed afterward that got me. Like Kase-san it has an inexplicable charm to it that readers have to get from the start in order to understand.

Spring, Summer, Fall and Winter#7: Spring, Summer, Fall and Winter.

This manga. This manga somehow puts a smile on my face every time I read it.I cannot help but smile. Sure there is a moment between one of the couples that would make some feel uncomfortable but I’m sure over time they got over it and it never happened again after that. It also has one of the best punches in yuri history. That punch ALWAYS gets me! Other than that the stories in this series are, for the most part, straightforward, touching and steamy. There’s even an ultra rare post-epilogue chapter for those interested who look hard enough.

iono_the_fanatics#6: Iono-sama the Fanatics

The legend of Iono-sama is one I spread several times over the years of this blog’s existence each time a girl appeared who had the gift of attracting many other women who wanted to “BE” with that one girl. Whether Iono-sama is the first to perfect the craft of the yuri harem or not in Japanese media is unknown but she’s certainly the most powerful yuri harem protagonist in recorded history. This woman’s legendary accomplishment is what inspired the award named after her honoring anime and manga ladies who aspire to become supreme chick magnets whether they want to or not.

And now for my top 5

Kase-san#5: Kase-san

Kase-san has a certain charm that cannot be properly explained using words alone. See, there is not much uniqueness in both the main ladies Yamada and Kase-san herself. Yamada is a sweet, bubbly and somewhat clumsy fangirl who was lucky enough to get the interest of one of the most (probably the most) popular girls in the school. Kase-san has many of the “perfect woman” traits we’ve come to know from anime and manga. However what makes these common traits work so incredibly well in this manga is the execution. Neither girl comes off as being pretentious, neither has their stereotypical traits shoved down viewers’ throats and neither girl feels unbelievable. Both Yamada and Kase-san has numerous moments that make readers go “d’awwww” or “Kyaaaa!” It’s that good.

Hopefully because of recent unfortunate events this glorious tale has not come to an end just yet.

Wife and Wife

#4: Wife and Wife

The fluffy and heartwarming story of two girls who live together loving each other more and more each day along with their neighbors and other ladies who also have the simple desire of eternal unity with one another. Need I say more?

Honey Crush

#3: Honey Crush

This manga touched my kokoro quite a bit. Usually motion pictures do that but rarely books and comics. The main tagline I KIND OF gave this manga was “How far would one go in the name of love?”. I feel this perfectly describes the tale that was told in this cute yet surprisingly heartwrenching tale of the afterlife, desire, dormant truth, cuteness and erupting emotions.

Hoshikawa Ginza District 4

#2: Hoshikawa Ginza District 4

This was a HUGE surprise for me after I finished reading this one. I mean I never expected to love a story of a developing romantic relationship between a young adult woman and an adolescent girl as much as I loved this one. Many of us know how touchy the subject of age-gap pairings are, especially when one of the lovers is younger than 15. Otome’s 13 when the two started becoming attracted to each another. The reason I like this manga so much is that it’s less about a forbidden romance and more about the two ladies working very hard to make their relationship work. The two are practically made for each other and the manga carefully illustrates many scenes where this unity is justified. I doubt many people will understand me placing this manga so high on my list. Again I amazed myself by this choice but when a I respect what the author accomplished by writing this story the way they did I cannot help but place this one as high as I did.

octave#1: Octave

No surprises here. Octave is still the best yuri manga I’ve ever read so far in my life. It has the best drawn woman in a yuri manga in Setsuko imo. Yukino is an intentionally flawed mess who tries her hardest to find stability in herself and her relationship with Setsuko. Not every person both girls meet are friendly faces because in several real life lesbian relationship (or any relationship for that matter) there will be jerks who want to mess things up for several reasons or the lovers themselves make mistakes to upset others. That’s a part of life people have to deal with and it is depticted quite well in this manga. The main relationship is both unstable and interesting and also an important factor is that none of the obstacles feel contrived or pointlessly shoved in. The story is as unstable as the themes and plot elements it brought up and I loved every second of reading this manga the multiple times I read it.

So this is my “V2” fav yuri manga list. Will it change again in another 3-4 years? Who knows?

About OG-Man

Yuri and Slice of Life are my anime passion.
This entry was posted in OG's Lists. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to OG’s New Top 10 Fav Yuri Manga

  1. EasyOs says:

    Wow that’s cool, your list is actually pretty close to mine(7/10) though somewhat in a different order. I’ve never actually read #1 and #3 though. How long are they and would you say they can be enjoyed by any yuri-fan?

    Like

  2. the_elevator_man says:

    Going into uncharted territory, interesting. It takes a lot of guts to leave out the popular mainstays like Girl Friends, Gokujo Drops and Citrus. You’re really digging deep, and that’s what counts when peeps like myself look for new stuff to read. Nice post.

    Like

  3. mutopis says:

    #Octave
    too much drama on my yuri.

    to me it would be like this

    1 Hoshikawa Ginza District 4
    2 Wife and Wife
    3 Poor Poor Lips.
    4 Iono-sama the Fanatics
    5 Kisses, Sighs and Cherry Blossom Pink
    6 Spring, Summer, Fall and Winter.
    7 Kase-san

    Stray Little Devil & Honey Crush I haven’t read it yet.

    Like

  4. automaticimperfection says:

    Citrus isn’t here :O

    Like

  5. #10, #6 and #1 haven’t read it, but I agree 100% in your TOP 5. Thanks for the recomendations xD

    Like

  6. VolKatina says:

    Do you know where I can read Stray Little Devil? I cannot find it anywhere D:

    Like

  7. Otaku says:

    I love poor poor lips it’s so funny I can’t help but read it over and over.
    (^-^)/

    Like

  8. yurimylove says:

    I’ve read 7 out of your top 10 (including 4 out of your top 5). Guess that leaves me with 3 recommended yuri manga to read then…

    Like

  9. Hanneman says:

    I’ve read all of your mentions, excluding #7, which i havent due to mixed reactions in the reviews i’ve read. I wont make a Top 10 ’cause i cant number most of them in a order, so i’ll just mention my favorites down below (with the exceptions of the ones you’ve mentioned in your post, that are my favorites too):

    Girl Friends:
    You know how much i love this one, its my all-time favorite and the yuri bible for everyone out there (minus you, mr OG hipster dood, hehe). One thing i love about this title is how every single time i read it makes me feel the exact same way as i felt the first time i did. And thats a feeling i only get with this manga.

    The Cross Heart trilogy:
    Aaaaangsty and a heartwarming ending to a manga/doujin (i dont know what designation to use) i was confident i wouldnt like and got to love it.

    Shoujo Sect:
    I think i am the only person in the entire world who would say this is a awesome manga (and the OVA too).

    Fragments of Love:
    The manga that made me realize the awesomeness of Takemiya Jin. That woman has a gift to make yuri stories.

    Octave:

    Yeah, its an exception from what i wrote at the introduction, but i want to say just why this is not my all-time best work in universe. The reason is that Setsuko and Yukino dont look like they are happy being a couple during the entire manga. Its just that all the little moments of joy between them are overshadowed by the gloomy and sad moments and fights between them. All that makes the ending feel strange, you know. But thats just my humble opinion.

    I would say something about Wife and Wife, but i just dont have the words to describe the awessomeness of it.

    Like

  10. Rei says:

    Didn’t know you like to read mangas too. 🙂

    Like

  11. Ray Paul says:

    I have read girlfriends, octave, asagao to Kase San, they were amazing. waiting for the updates also. I really love Yuri Manga. I will hope to have more great Mangas to read..

    Like

  12. Robin says:

    Seems like a great list, I began reading the nr: 2 as it seemed more interesting than the nr:1, I really enjoyed that one so I thought I would give nr:1 a try aswell. Im glad I did as I thought that one was even better! I haven’t really read alot of mangas so far and haven’t really been able to enjoy them all that much (mostly I just read them while im not at home to pass time), Octave and Hoshikawa Ginza where both very very good though so thanks for this list!

    If you haven’t seen it, I’d recommend “Blue is the Warmest Colour” for a movie with a somewhat similar feel to that of Octave, (also exist as a comic but the art didn’t realy appeal to me so I probably won’t read it – the movie is excellent though).

    Like

  13. Lulur says:

    i like your top 5 😀
    Honey crush was really cute and fun. and i want more Kase-san so much… 😦

    Like

  14. Pingback: Mysterious Kase-san Poster | The Yuri Nation

Leave a Reply

